Then There Was 2014

The rush of the holidays is over. The New Year has been rung in and I have celebrated my 32nd year on Earth. Gifts were given, resolutions were made and drinks were imbibed.

As I reflect back on 2013 I actually feel a little older, a little wiser, a little bit more content with my life. I can’t say I’ve actually felt older after a birthday but this year I do. But it feels good. In 2013 I started trying to be a better person, someone people want to be around. I’m focusing on letting go of things I can’t control and being positive about life in general. Those things feel good to me, even when it’s hard to do.

I started focusing on that about mid-2013. It’s something I’m going to carry through to 2014, one of my resolutions of sorts.

Some people don’t do resolutions, I used to be one of them. I used to view resolutions as giving myself unachievable goals. They were usually physical goals too, like stop biting my fingernails, or loose some weight. I’ve always had trouble with the “loose some weight” resolution. It’s so vague and doesn’t name a way to do it that seems manageable on a daily basis. “Loose some weight” is equivalent to “write a novel.” Writing a novel seems ridiculously hard, even for an experienced writer. But, “write for twenty minutes a day” seems much less intimidating.

So this year I have quite the list of resolutions, but they’re pretty manageable. The hardest for me will be remaining positive (especially during my funks, it’s ridiculously difficult to stay positive when everything seems grim) and giving up control of uncontrollable things.

Did you make any resolutions this year?

10 responses to “Then There Was 2014

  1. I didn’t even know you bite your nails! I struggle with that one too!

  2. Oh, also, my resolution is to stop driving everywhere, and to gym at least 3xs a week. Barf.

    • Those are excellent resolutions! I’m also trying to drive less, mostly when I head downtown where parking is expensive/hard to find.

      I have been a nail biter for years! It was really bad when I was younger. I didn’t start to get a handle on it until 2005. I really wanted pretty nails for my wedding so I tried super duper hard to not bite them. I haven’t stopped completely but I mostly only nibble when they get really long or one of them snags. I carry a nail file around with me everywhere so I won’t be tempted to bite em off. 🙂

  3. I’m same as Cassie…goal to hit up my gym at least 3 times a week, and to just be more mindful and healthier. So vague in a way, but definitely attainable and are things I can manage to do. So hears to 2014 peeps!

  4. This year, I resolve to check every pocket of every garment before I put it in the wash.

    Staci, your constant nail file is an excellent example of equipping yourself to stick to a resolution! We can’t do much of anything without the proper tools.

  5. More faith…less fear. More quiet…less noise. More wisdom…less foolishness. More gratitude…less entitlement. I know these aren’t specific goals but rather how I want 2014 to be different from 2013. I have specific ways I will go about achieve these but won’t clog up your page 🙂

  6. I think we all have! Nothing in particular, though – just good practice, hoping to form a habit.

    Ooh, and I shall also keep a log of movies I watch and books I finish in 2014. And call my grandparents a couple times per month.

Leave a Reply

