Prince of Cats- A Review (Or a Gushing Fan Girl…Whatever)

Reading web comics has been a very slippery slope for me. I am a sucker for a good story and there are some really good stories out there. Usually web comics have ads for other comics on their pages. So I’ll click on one and start reading. Then I get sucked in and keep reading until I catch up and have to wait for more updates. While I anxiously await the next update I’ll click on another link and the whole process starts again.

That’s how I happened upon a web comic called Prince of Cats, by Kori M. Handwerker. I started reading it and got completely sucked in. It’s 2003 and two boys are trying to navigate the tricky waters of high school and their friendship. What makes it even more tricky is they are in love with each other. I can’t put my finger on what exactly makes this comic so compelling. I suppose there are several factors.

The characters are so easy to relate to. From the main characters Frank and Lee, to the minor characters of teachers and classmates, the behavior is believable. The dialogue is realistic. It’s like being transported back to high school. I think that’s one of the things that makes me love this story, it doesn’t feel forced or fake.

The story line also keeps me interested. I went back to the beginning today as I was preparing to write this review and again, even though I knew the story, I was sucked in. I kept thinking just one more page, one more page, seriously this is the last one.  I don’t think there’s been a time that I’ve lost interest in this story. I like that the year she’s chosen is one when being gay wasn’t widely accepted, especially by insecure high school students. The location is also more conservative so I’m interested to see how she’ll make that apparent in the future.

Let’s talk about the art for a second. It’s really beautiful. It’s one of the comics that inspired me to pick up a pencil and start drawing again. I liked the art quite a lot at the beginning and I think it has really become something special. It’s not only entertaining to read but beautiful to see.

If you’re looking for a well crafted story, with lovely artwork and compelling characters look no farther than Prince of Cats by Kori M. Handwerker. Seriously go there now and just read the first couple pages. Lee will suck you right in!

2 responses to “Prince of Cats- A Review (Or a Gushing Fan Girl…Whatever)

  1. I’ll check it out! Any other recommendations?

Leave a Reply

