Referendum 74

Oh boy folks. It’s election season. My least favorite time, I don’t like politics. I don’t get involved. I find the phone banking and petitions and bullying and scare tactics tiresome. But this year there is an extremely important referendum at stake. R 74 is about marriage equality.

I try not to let things get to me, but seriously folks, this is important. This bill is not about changing the very definition of what you think marriage is. That’s what great about the US, you’re allowed to believe whatever you want. If you believe marriage only happens between a man and woman, fine you’re allowed to believe that. Thing is American’s boast about freedom and equality. If you’re legally not allowed to marry the person you love how is that equal? Even if the state says that marriage is two adults consenting to spend the rest of their lives together instead of one man and one woman, who cares? You don’t have to believe that or teach that to your children.

People get very worried about what their children will learn in school. Honestly, you are the parent. You raise your child the way you want. When I went to school I took sex education where I learned about STD’s and prevention. They talked about abstinence and they talked about birth control, pills, diaphrams, condoms etc. I didn’t run home with a jumbo box of condoms and start having sex with every guy I saw. Because my parents took the time to educate me themselves. They told me what they believed and asked me to make a choice. They did not rely on the public school system to raise me for them.

So people are concerned that this new marriage law will be taught in schools. I went to public school, and I don’t recall there ever being a time when we were taught about marriage. How would this even come up? Heterosexuality isn’t taught at school, so why would homosexuality start being taught? This makes no sense at all.

Opponents of R 74 also suggest that the best environment for a child to be raised in is with both of their biological parents. I’m going to go out on a limb here and say that not all heterosexual marriages have been perfect.  So it’s a weak argument for opponents of R 74 to suggest a child would be raised better by their biological parents. Look at the show 16 and Pregnant. Just because you can have a baby doesn’t mean you should. Additionally just because you physically can’t have a baby with someone doesn’t mean you shouldn’t.

Marriage is not all about having babies. In fact I know several couples who got married simply because they loved each other, but weren’t sure or were even absolutely positive they didn’t want to have kids. Should those couples be denied the right to marriage simply because they weren’t going to have children?  What about people who get divorced after having children? What about a parent who takes their child away from the other parent due to abuse? What about death in the family? There is always an ideal situation, but I think the ideal situation is confused with this argument. A child can grow up happy, and well in a same sex partnership. The ideal environment for a child is a loving one, which sometimes might not include both the biological mother and father.

The  last thing I want to cover is Church’s and religious organizations.  Many people assume that church’s and other religious organizations will be forced to abandon their beliefs and perform ceremony’s for same sex couples. It says point blank in the actual Referendum that this will not happen. “This bill would allow same-sex couples to marry, preserve domestic partnerships only for seniors, and preserve the right of clergy or religious organizations to refuse to perform, recognize, or accommodate any marriage ceremony.” Again here’s the beauty of living in America, the church and the state are separate. So even if R 74 passes church’s still reserve the right to say no to a couple who asks to be married there.

I have two people in my life who I consider close, dear friends. They happen to be gay. If they meet someone and decide they want to spend the rest of their lives with that person I want to be able to go to their wedding. If my son grows up and finds that he’s a homosexual I want him to have the right to marry the person he loves. That’s what referendum 74 is about. It’s about love. It’s about spending your life with the one person who makes you happiest. We simply can’t deny that right to same sex couples any longer. For love, please approve R 74.

4 responses to “Referendum 74

  1. You are so awesome, Staci. Thank you for being such a great ally and friend!! ❤ ❤ ❤

  2. Staci, beautifully said as usual.

  3. Staci, powerful, compelling and beautiful!

Leave a Reply

