First Impressions

I’ve just started my foray into online dating and so far…it’s weird. There’s a few things I don’t get about it.

The first being the whole “Rate People!” thing. I’ve been rated a few times, but every time (except one) the people rating me have never spoken to me. They’ve only looked at my profile. They don’t even message me, just rate me. That weirds me out a little.

I guess that’s really the only thing that’s weird to me. I’ve messaged a few men, but haven’t received a reply which is a little disappointing. Most everyone I’ve messaged is someone who “Replies selectively, or very selectively.” That probably has something to do with it.

I also don’t know the etiquette of messaging someone. Is it ok to just ignore them? (According to every guy I’ve messaged so far it is.) I feel bad if I just ignore someone, but there are some folks I look at and say “Umm, yeah no never.” So why lead them on?

I guess I’m just new to this whole thing. It’s only been a week. I suppose I’ll give it a little more time.

5 responses to “First Impressions

  1. It gets easier. Just stick to it. You need to learn the online tricks of the trade and then it becomes easier. A lot of people on here blog about online dating, myself included. I learned a lot from their posts. Good luck to you! I look forward to reading your future posts.

    • Thanks for stopping by! I’ve been reading some blogs about online dating and thought what the hey! I’m trying to keep a positive attitude about the whole thing. Thanks for the encouragement!

  2. If I’m completely not interested in someone, I will usually send them a quick “Thanks for messaging me, but I don’t think we’re a good fit. Good luck.” kind of message. That way I don’t feel bad for ignoring them and they know I”m not interested. Don’t get too down about no replies yet either…some people don’t check their messages often at all.

  3. Good luck in this new venture! You have to give it time, so don’t give up, but don’t let it suck away your life or your spirit either… Hope you’re enjoying the sunshine in Seattle – I’m a Victoria girl, so we share the same weather systems 🙂

Leave a Reply

