Abandonment Issues

I have started watching a show called Skins. It follows a group of teenagers in Bristol, England through their last two school years. I. Love. This. Show. I am completely addicted and already on Season 2. I can’t really explain what I love about it. I like it because it doesn’t portray teenagers in a patronizing or fake way, it all seems very authentic. It makes me think of the issues I dealt with while I was that age and a part of me (the brooding, emo teenager part) really identifies with it. I like that they tackle controversial issues, but still manage to make the show funny. Because that’s how life is, dramatic and controversial, but also quite funny. All the characters are great but my favorites are Sid and Chris, followed closely by Cassie and Maxxie.

There was one episode I saw recently that really stopped me in my tracks. It almost made me cry which is saying a lot because I make it a point not to cry during TV shows, or movies or books. (Which has become much more difficult since becoming a mother.) Chris, who is a party animal, wakes up one morning to find an envelope of cash on the kitchen counter with a note from his mother saying she’ll be gone for a few days. We find out later, after Chris has spent all the cash on a gigantic party, that his mother’s room is empty. She has abandoned him. We also find out later that his father is a dick, who won’t take him in and his older brother has died.

This really got to me, because I was absolutely baffled by the fact that his mom just left and his father refused to even see him. Perhaps his mother has other issues with drugs or alcohol or something. Whatever the reason, it still makes me mad. Partly because I love Chris, and partly because I simply cannot see any reason to abandon my own son. As a mother I don’t know how she did it. In fact the more I think about it, the more I’m convinced drugs or something like that have to be involved. Maybe it was the death of her first son that sent her into a crazy spiral and that’s why she abandons Chris, but still.

I know I don’t have a teenage son yet. I don’t have a son that’s constantly taking random drugs and partying all the time. I know I’ve got a sweet two and half year old, so maybe I could not possibly understand. But I think, no I know for a fact, that even if Jack does become a terrible teenager I would never, ever leave him. He’s my son and that means something to me. No matter what he does, or who he becomes, I will always protect him and love him with every fiber of my being. If he needs help I will find it for him, even if he doesn’t want it. If he runs off, I will never stop looking for him. If he’s a perfect angel and never steps a toe out of line I will rejoice and be glad that he didn’t get my reckless streak. I would do anything for my son. I really don’t understand a mother who doesn’t share that same feeling.

Update: I’ve finished watching season 2 and now know why Chris’ mom left. I still don’t get it. It doesn’t seem like a good reason at all. If it were me, given the circumstances I would have stayed and spent every chance I could with Chris, but I supposed that’s just me.

Also at the beginning of season 3 they started with a new batch of students and honestly I’m not feeling the same attachment. This batch of kids don’t even seem like friends at all. They are much more selfish, no one cares about anyone else and Effy is so dammed depressing. Three of the boys are supposed to be best friends from primary school, but it really doesn’t seem that way. I’m not really connecting with any of the characters and find myself annoyed with everyone for being so self centered all the time. I keep watching hoping it will get better, but I’m not sure if it will.

Update 2: Finished season 4 and I’m pretty much done with the show, even though there’s one more season on Netflix and I think one more coming. I don’t think any batch of students can live up to the awesomeness of the first one. So now I’ll stick with Battlestar Galactica and Doctor Who. Doctor Who put up new episodes on Netflix last night and I was ecstatic! Seriously I’ve missed Matt Smith so much!

2 responses to “Abandonment Issues

  1. I’ve seen these too, they are amazing.

Leave a Reply

