Christmas Memories #2: Presents & Being Psychic

Holy crap, it’s Friday! You’d think with my psychic abilities I would stay on top of this. What the crap is she talking about you may ask? Well read on and find out!

Presents are awesome. I love getting presents. I love giving presents. I love giving presents because getting people things they want is awesome. This can make the actual shopping a little difficult if I’m unsure of what to buy a certain person, but when I know them well and know what they like, oh man! I love giving them the package and watching their face as they open it; so great.

Like many families we have some traditions as far as presents go. Two spring quickly to mind; Christmas Eve night we are allowed to open one gift and each year we receive hot chocolate mix from “Santa” (aka Grandma and Grandpa). I look forward to that hot chocolate mix every year. When I was living at home mom had hot chocolate mix anyway so for awhile I had so much I didn’t have to buy any for years. In fact I think the first time I actually purchased hot chocolate mix was after I was married.

There was one year when I was convinced I was psychic because of an incident with a present. I don’t remember exactly what year this was but my cousin, aunt and uncle came to visit and had, of course, brought presents. They arrived at the house with the gifts already wrapped, giving no hints as to what we might be opening on Christmas day. I saw one wrapped up for me. I picked it up and shook it a little, not much rattling. I felt it a bit and wondered for a moment what it was. I looked at the tag and saw it was from my cousin James. Immediately the image of a makeup kit in a purple box with a black handle came into my head.

Feeling silly I put it back down. I don’t know why but I was absolutely convinced that it was a purple makeup kit wrapped in that paper. I could even envision the details of the box down to the logo on the corner of the front of the box. Because of how certain I was and because I did feel silly I didn’t tell anyone about my prediction for said gift.

Christmas day came and I was astounded to see that I was, in fact, correct. It was a gigantic makeup kit, in a purple box with a black handle complete with a logo emblazoned on the front. That is how one Christmas gift convinced me of my supernatural psychic abilities.

Leave a Reply

