Facebook Hiatus

I am actually writing this blog on Tuesday afternoon from the in laws house. By the time this is posted I will be in Hawaii with them, and I’m sure it will be glorious.

I decided that the trip to Hawaii would be a good time to take a hiatus from Facebook. I have many issues with Facebook, as some of you know. I’ve tried to limit myself but I’ve not been as successful as I’d hoped. So while in Hawaii it is my goal to not access Facebook at all. Upon my return I hope to wean myself off of it, to become less dependent on it. I have already gone into my preferences and turned off all notifications of any kind, so I won’t be tempted to pop on “real quick.”

Facebook is strange because it claims to be a “social” tool, but I feel more lonely and isolated on Facebook than in real life. Facebook has started to take the place of actual, real relationships in my life. Honestly, I find Facebook to be a more effective spying tool, rather than social tool. How many times have you checked out a friends page but not written a blessed thing on their wall? So here is my plan for my Facebook rehabilitation:

First two weeks: Facebook once a day for no more than 20 minutes.

Next two weeks: Facebook once every other day for no more than 20 minutes.

Next two weeks: Facebook twice a week for no more than 15 minutes.

Next two weeks: Facebook once a week for no more than 15 minutes.

If I can reach those goals we’ll see if I can get it down to once every two weeks. This may be shocking to some, why would I want to cut myself off like this? Well really who am I cutting myself off from? The people I actually see and talk to in person have my phone number. My email address is on my Facebook info page. How hard is it to send an email message rather than a Facebook message? It’s not as if I’m throwing away my phone or never checking my email. I’m not going off into the woods to become a hermit. Just the opposite actually.

Instead of sitting alone at my computer silently starting at the monitor I’ll be forcing myself to call people, text them and get together…in person! I’ll force myself to have real relationships again instead of virtual ones.

One response to “Facebook Hiatus

  1. what a great idea! and then you could write a book about that journey and it will sell a gazillion copies and you’ll do book tours and t.v. interviews and promotional endorsements and have more people in your life than you know what to do with! 🙂 (heehee)

Leave a Reply

