Live in the Now!

Have you seen Wayne’s World? If not watch it and love it with me. If you have, do you remember that scene where Wayne is pining over a guitar he can’t afford and Garth says to him “Stop torturing yourself, man! You’ll never afford it! Live in the now!” I’ve been thinking about that phrase, live in the now, and how that looks for me.

It’s hard to live in the now, especially in today’s society. Technology is constantly on the move, there’s a new iSomething out everyday it seems. But it’s not just technology, it’s holidays. Before Christmas is over, grocery and department stores are putting out Easter decorations. I even saw new swim suits available at Target in February. Who’s thinking about summer in the dead of winter? (I suppose a lot of people are, but still…)

Even something like raising a child can make you feel as though you’re always looking forward. You wonder when your child will start doing this or that, when you will potty train and how you’ll do it. Some foresight is a good thing, like saving for college, but I think that’s just being prepared. Like having an earthquake or zombie apocalypse survival kit. I think the issue is being so preoccupied with what is going to be happening that you loose sight of what actually is happening.

The future always seems better. Things will get better with time. Even if they did get better would you notice or would you push past them as so many of us do looking for the best time? If we keep pushing and waiting for things to change or get better eventually we’ll reach the point where we’re out of time for pushing and waiting.

But let’s not get morbid. The fact is, we need to slow down. Alright I won’t speak for everyone. I, at least, want to slow down. I need to slow down.  All my life I’ve been waiting for the next big thing. In middle school I looked forward to high school, then college, then marriage, then kids, but things don’t always go smoothly. How I wish now that I’d been more cognizant of what was going on because the fact is once those times are past they become memories.

I suppose I’m adding another resolution to my short list this year. And that’s to be more aware of what I have now. That’s not to say that looking forward to fun things is bad. I’ve got a fun weekend ahead of me that I’m looking forward to and Emerald City Comicon is the next weekend. But during those fun weekends, I want to be totally present. I don’t want to be distracted by things that may or may not come to pass. I just want to be.

3 responses to “Live in the Now!

  1. Very good thoughts Stater. I dig it! Also LOVE Wayne’s World. I Love You Muchos Big Sister!! 🙂

  2. Thanks for the reminder Stater 🙂

  3. “Zombie apocolypse survival kit” 🙂 haha!
    I think this idea of living int he now is one of the hardest things for me. But somehow I think I’ve let myself do that more and more since we’ve moved here, and it is such a peaceful feeling!

Leave a Reply

