Watching Anime

Last night I was supposed to go to an anime night at a friends house. (We’re watching Bleach, in case anyone was wondering.) Those plans changed when the kiddo barfed halfway through dinner. But that’s not what this post is about. This post is about watching anime. What’s funny about me watching anime is that this is a fairly new development in my life.

For a long time I was unfamiliar with anime. The only points of reference I had for it was Dragon Ball Z and Pokemon both of which were unimpressive, even slightly annoying to me. So why would I ever give it a chance again you may ask? The short answer is my friends. I truly have some of the best friends on the planet. I’m sure most people think that about their buddies, but I’m certain I really, really do have the bestest friends out there. What happened was I met Jordan and we got married, which is awesome. Except with marriage came a certain cutting off for me. So in an effort to hang out with my friends more, I started attending anime nights. Thus began my love of anime. Not only did these special nights mean I got to drink beer and hang out with friends, they also meant watching Death Note; arguably one of the best animes EVER. I’m serious, I’m watching it again with bf and it’s so wonderful.

A funny thing happened after I finished Death Note. I realized not all anime was totally lame. In fact some of it was beautifully drawn, had compelling story lines and deep characters. Shock and awe!

It makes me happy when my friends can reintroduce me to something I thought I had figured out. Thanks guys!

2 responses to “Watching Anime

  1. Ok, when I first read the title of this post, I thought it said “Annie.” Then as I was reading it, I was like, “where is the Annie reference? I don’t get it.” Then I went back to the top and read the title again… Anime! Makes so much more sense now 🙂

  2. You should watch Claymore, it’s awesome. I think Justin knows a site you can watch it on.

    Also, I was at anime night last night (random, because usually that night’s bad for me). We missed you, but it was great to see you today!!

    I am super grateful for our group of friends too, we’re a lucky bunch. ❤

Leave a Reply

