An Introduction to Love

This may be a cliched way to start this but it is the most simple. Merriam-Webster defines love as: “1: strong affection 2: warm attachment 3: attraction based on sexual desire 4: a beloved person 5: unselfish loyal and benevolent concern of others.”

I’ve been thinking about love a lot lately. For obvious reasons, like Jordo, but also because I’ve been noticing it everywhere. I’ve got four weddings to go to this fall. It’s in books, movies and music. People were built to love. We love all kinds of things. Think about your typical day. How many times a day do you say you love something? Not just a person, but a song, a sandwich, your car. You think of your dog or cat or whatever and think ‘I love them.’ Sure these all seem like frivolous things, but we can’t help our nature. The one thing we’ve been built to do should be fairly straightforward and simple. But like many things that the human race complicates, love is the one we mess with the most. Something that seems so simple is one of the most complicated and complex things we deal with. Love is a mystery, a conundrum, that I’m foolishly going to try to make sense of.

I guarantee I’ll contradict myself as I go through this. I won’t ever be absolutely right and I’m sure many of you will disagree with what I’ve got to say. That’s the beauty of love, it will never be perfectly written out; it will always vary from person to person, so it is always a fresh topic.
Here are some of the thoughts and questions I’ve been thinking about, that I plan on addressing: Love is a verb. Love is a choice. Love overcomes all obstacles. Is love an emotion, a firing of dopamine in the brain or a living thing? If you’ve got a suggestion feel free to comment below. If it gets the gears in my brain turning I might add it my ever growing list of love topics.

2 responses to “An Introduction to Love

  1. wow, staci ~ i’m so glad you posted on facebook that you have a blog. you’re an amazing woman (i’ve long known that) and now i see you’re an amazing writer, too. thanks for posting so honestly, so authentically. you are an inspriation to me, my dear, which i know you would instantly trade away to wind back the clock to january 1 … but please know that in the midst of what you’re going through i see God at work, and His touch on your heart and your life is a precious and powerful thing. i hope you keep writing ~ when you do i’ll be reading. 🙂 praying for you today.

  2. i like that you’re writing again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

