The Places I’ve Been: Savannah, GA

Savannah, Georgia was the one place on our trip where Jordan and I browsed through homes for sale.  We loved it.  I think I loved it a bit more than Jordan and the area we’d want to live in was a bit pricey. A lot of people ask me why I loved it so much.  I really can’t explain why. We drove into town and the feel of the place was different from the other places we’d been.  I’d had a lot of fun at many of our other destinations but Savannah is the one I think back to most and go to first when telling folks about our trip.

We arrived in Savannah at about 11am. We had no real plan for the place so we stopped at the visitor’s center where we picked up a map and hopped on a tour. The tour was the best way to see Savannah if you’re unfamiliar with the town and didn’t have a lot of time to spend there, which we didn’t.  The tour gave a great overview of the historic district and the riverfront. After the tour we had a better idea of where we wanted to go, and what we wanted to see.

We had some lunch and toured around Savannah on foot, stopping at a couple bookstores, Flannery O’Conner’s house and the oldest tree in Savannah.

That evening around 6:45pm we went on a ghost tour.  I chose this tour because the one in New Orleans really wasn’t what I was hoping for.  The Savannah tour was perfect. The tour mainly focused on the Sorrel-Weed house in the Historic District of Savannah.  This house has a very sordid past. (For the story on the Sorrel-Weed house go here.)  The show Ghost Hunters on the Sci-Fi channel came out and inspected the house and said it was one of the most haunted houses they’d ever been too. The tour also took us to a few other places nearby including the graveyard, but my favorite part of the tour was the house. I wished we could have gone upstairs to the bedrooms, but alas the house is  lived in part time by someone, so I suppose they need some amount of privacy.

We were feeling particularly creepy so to top of our evening of haunts we had dinner at the Moon River Brew Pub, which is reputedly haunted as well. We asked our waiter about it and he confirmed it with a couple personal stories. By this time it was pouring down rain so we basically ran back to our hotel after dinner.

Like I said I can’t explain why I loved Savannah so much.  We were only there for a day, but from the moment we arrived it had that heavy historic feel of an old town.  I loved the feeling of spirits floating about as if nothing has changed; just as eager to stay in Savannah as I was.

Leave a Reply

