My Fellow Writers

I call myself a writer, because I write fictional stories, memoir, and blog.  I’m not paid for it, but I hope to be some day. Writing is my passion, it’s how I process life.  I always feel so much better after I write something, almost anything.  I’m convinced someday I will find my calling and my writing will be more than a passing fancy or hobby.  When I’m not writing like a mad woman, I scour the internet, books, and any other resource I can get my hands on to find that ever elusive outlet for my writing.  In most of my internet scouring I’ve found the vast amounts of writers a bit intimidating.  There are so many people out there trying to get published that it’s discouraging.  I got to thinking today about those people.   These people claim to be working on their writing, searching for an agent, or a publisher.  Their comments on forums and message boards are always long winded and haughty; full of what seems to be knowledge regarding the publishing world.  I wondered how much each of those people truly spend doing honest to God writing, or real research towards getting their work out there.

I’m sure many of them are doing well as writers, or editors, but with so many responses, some as simple as “I totally agree with what so-and-so said” it seems they just sit at their computer all day ready to argue, agree or start a fight.  Maybe it’s their “break time” when they allow themselves to spend time on silly writers websites.

Don’t get your panties in a twist now.  I know there a great many excellent writers websites out there.  I visit some from time to time, but on the whole, many of those websites tell you what you already know.  Writing is a difficult career.  It’s nearly impossible to get published.  Even if you’re one of the most brilliant writers on the scene since Joyce, Hemingway or insert your favorite author name here, it’s still all too difficult to get published.  It’s obvious in the amounts self publishing sites.  The truth is as long as you’re willing to put in a few bucks you can get your book published.  It doesn’t even have to be good. You don’t even have to edit it!  You can publish any piece of shit you happen to type out on any given day.  I believe that it’s because of this that so many doors are being closed on decent writers.  No one wants to take a chance on an unknown writer because of all the market saturation that’s going on.

Maybe I’m the one that’s delusional and I can’t see the flaws in my own writing.  Perhaps I missed my true calling or perhaps I don’t really have one and I just am.  That’s a depressing thought considering how long I’ve been writing.  Oh well, at least I know there’s always self publishing.

One response to “My Fellow Writers

  1. Writing to get paid would assuredly be a wonderful vocation, but I must confess that it would seem to be the proverbial icing on the cake.
    Write because you love it . . .
    Write because you might just inspire somoene else to–and that’s never a bad thing . . .
    Write for yourself, not for the faceless hoards . . .
    Don’t worry so much about all the others. Not everybody will like your style, but some will love it. And if you can touch just one reader, then all your effort is worth the time.

Leave a Reply

