Ticking Time Bomb

I’ve returned from my much needed vacation to the “Western Caribbean.” I quote it because we didn’t see much of the Caribbean. Due to social unrest we didn’t make our stop in Roatan. So we went on the Belieze.  Due to tropical storms, we went on to Cozumel. After Cozumel we stopped in Progresso Mexico, which was a nice beach day. But that’s not what this post is about.

Since returning from my cruise I’ve been bombarded by time. It’s difficult to explain what I mean.  It seems so many people are talking about time. The fact that our small group is reading a book about time and marriage relationships contributes a lot to this.  The book talks about people believing time waits for them.

But rather time waiting for us, we’re waiting. Not necessarily for time, but we’re just waiting in general. I can see what they are talking about. My life has been a series of waits, which is weird cause I HATE waiting. All my life I’ve been craning my neck towards tomorrow and not living for today.

In High School I thought all about college, in college I thought about graduation, at graduation I thought about jobs, while I was working I thought about when I could quit and get on with my life. With my thoughts always preoccupied with what’s to come I wonder how much I missed out by not being totally present in the here and now.

This has always been something that frustrates me about myself, (one of the many things). I wish I could be perfectly happy where I am, but it seems I’m always looking forward to something.  That’s not to say that having goals and fun things coming up is a bad thing.  Those aren’t bad things, it’s good to look forward to things. But if you can’t be happy for five minutes once you reach that goal then what’s the point? You’ll get there be happy for a second then start wondering what’s coming next.

On just a slightly different note, I think time has everything to do with my stress levels. On the cruise time was extremly flexible, it was almost liquid, (except, of course, when you were in a port of call). I felt relaxed and happy.  You could leave your cabin and go do an activity, go lay by the pool or just sit in your room.  It wasn’t necessarily the fact that I had a bunch of free time, although, that was nice. It was the fact that time didn’t really matter.  Then I came back home. I simply tried to drive to the grocery store to pick up a few things and I got stressed.  Why? Because everyone is in such a rush and so rude.  It’s truly contagious.  I’ve only been home since last Monday and I can’t count how many people I’ve called and asshole or wanted to flip off. I don’t flip people off though, I think that’s the epitome of rudeness and I don’t want to be like that.

It’s really hard to feel relaxed or even content enough to enjoy the moment when people are freaking out around you for no good reason.

2 responses to “Ticking Time Bomb

  1. Be in the NOW!

  2. I get the “contagious rudeness” thing…especially while driving. I used to be that guy who was always in a hurry when driving, and would cut people off, speed, constantly change lanes & then flip people off or mutter obscenities when others would do the same to me. Then I realized how stupid and pointless that was. I may still weave a bit, but in general I am a much more patient and understanding driver. So while this doesn’t really do much to hit on your theme of time, learning patience is important and somewhat relevant. We as a society seem to be in such a hurry to get to the next thing, whether that’s the next green light or the next phase of our lives…when I think we really need to be more patient and like you said, enjoy what’s right in front of us.

Leave a Reply

